Huia Lodge was designed by architect Charles Le Neve Arnold and completed in 1903. The house is built in the 'Queen Anne Revival Style' and features kauri timber throughout most of the rooms. Although it underwent alteration and modernisation over the years when it was lived in, the restoration of 1991-93 has returned it to its original appearance. Huia Lodge reopened as the Cornwall Park Information Centre in 1994, and provides visitors with information resources and a programme of free activities and events. The Lindo Ferguson Education Centre was built next to the Lodge and opened in 2002. There visitors can gain a fascinating insight into the Maori and volcanic history of Maungakiekie/One Tree Hill.